Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Omicron travels red lists dominate by the African countries borders on racism

Pretoria- President Cyril Ramaphosa, during his recent four-nation tour of West Africa, has been vociferously critical of the travel red list imposed by the United Kingdom and other countries following the detection of the Omicron variant in South Africa.

Nigeria has been added to the UK's travel red list, joining a list made up of South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, eSwatini, Angola, Mozambique, Malawi and Zambia.

The Nigerian government has been vocal in slamming the "travel apartheid". Being on the controversial red list means the only people allowed to enter the UK from these countries are UK or Irish nationals or UK residents.

Arrivals from red list countries are required to enter hotel quarantine - at their own expense - and isolate for 10 days.

South Africansocial media users have raised questions on why African nations, some with no recorded cases of the Omicron variant, have been speedily added to the travel red list - while some nations outside Africa with confirmed cases are not on that list.


Content created and supplied by: Bassie_Earl (via Opera News )

Angola Cyril Ramaphosa Nigeria Omicron South Africa


Load app to read more comments