Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Immigration policy

Nigerians, Pakistanis and these 15 countries now require e-visas to enter South Africa

South Africa's Home Affairs department is amplifying the visa game by introducing e-visa's to citizens of at least 15 countries. 

Among these are Nigeria and Pakistan. South Africa is home to thousands of Nigerians and Pakistani's. 

The move was confirmed by Rika Anker who is the Home Affairs Chief Director of port control. She sent out a letter to the airline industry on Monday. 

A few months back, president Cyril Ramaphosa highlighted that South Africa would be implementing e-visas in am effort to revitalize the country's brand. 

DHA Director of Immigration Services, Phindiwe Mbhele, listed the 15 countries and outlined the process followed to begin implementation.

He said e-Visa activation would start this month and likely conclude in November. The 15 countries are (in order of activation):

  • Kenya and Cameroon
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo, Philippines and Rwanda
  • Ethiopia, Iran and Egypt
  • India, Uganda and Mexico
  • Pakistan and Nigeria
  • China and Saudi Arabia

It is not clear how the e-visa process will work but people from the countries listed above will have to apply online before they travel to South Africa. 

The validity of the e-visa will be 90 days or less.

Content created and supplied by: NewsReloaded (via Opera News )

Cyril Ramaphosa Home Affairs Nigeria Rika Anker South Africa


Load app to read more comments