Sign in
Download Opera News App



Health COVID


UK to ban travel from South Africa and five other African countries due to new covid variant


London said it would ban travel from six southern African countries after South Africa detected a new Covid 19 variant with a large number of mutations.

Health Secretary Sajid Javid said: The early indication they have of this variant is it may be more transmissible than the delta variant and the vaccines that they currently have may be less effetive against it.

He further said the new variant which South Africa attributed a surge in cases and had also been detected in travellers from the country in Botswana and Hong Kong had not been found so far in Britain.

South African records says 22 cases from new covid variant, said Health Minister Joe Phaahla.

British scientists are deeply concerned and as a precaution o decision had been to suspend all flights from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Botswana from today((friday 26 November,)1200 GMT on friday.

They will require anyone that arrives from those countries from 4:00 am on sunday to quarantine in hotels.

If anyone arrives beforethen they should self isolate at home and take a PCR test on day two and day eight.

Anyone who has arrived from any of those countries over the last 10 days, they are required to take PCR test

Britain has been among the harder hit by covid 19 since the start of the outreach early last year.

Content created and supplied by: Lettahngo (via Opera News )

Joe Phaahla Sajid Javid South South Africa UK


Load app to read more comments