Sign in
Download Opera News App



REMINDER: Kaizer Chiefs’ 12 departures: Who they are, what they’re worth

After confirming the release of Anthony Akumu Agay over the weekend, Kaizer Chiefs have now parted ways with a total of twelve players during the off-season. The Soweto giants are in the process of retooling their roster in preparation for the upcoming season. 

A quick review, in descending order of importance (from most valuable to least valuable), of the 12 players that will not be wearing Amakhosi colors during the upcoming season. 


1. Daniel Cardoso – €800 000 (R13 424 000) 

Daniel Cardoso, a veteran defender for the Chiefs, has decided to finish his career with the team because his contract is set to expire at the end of this month. Over the course of seven seasons, the 33-year-old forward participated in 185 games and scored 12 goals. 

2. Daniel Akpeyi – €650 000 (R10 907 000) 

The Club will also lose its services of goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, whose current contract is slated to end on June 30, 2022. The Nigerian international player joined Amakhosi in the middle of the 2018/19 season after making the move from Chippa United. He had previously played for Amakhosi 69 times over the course of 3.5 years. 

3. Leonardo Castro – €600 000 (R10 068 000) 

After a long and fruitful career with Amakhosi, the Colombian goal scorer Leonardo Castro has decided to part ways with the club. Since joining Amakhosi in 2018, the 33-year-old has appeared for the club 122 times and has scored 27 goals over the course of four seasons. 

4. Samir Nurkovic – €575 000 (R9 648 500) 

Samir Nurkovi's three-year connection with the Kaizer Chiefs will come to an end on June 30, 2022, when the latter's current contract is set to expire. The well-known Serbian forward got off to a scorching start in his first year with the Chiefs, when he notched 14 goals in his first campaign. 

5. Lebogang Manyama – €500 000 (R8 390 000) 

At the end of June, Lebogang Manyama's current contract will expire, and he will be free to sign with any club of his choosing. The offensive midfielder moved to Amakhosi in August 2018 from Turkish club Konyaspor, where he had spent the previous year playing 95 matches and scored 15 goals. I wish you the best, Lebo. 

6. Ramahlwe Mphahlele – €475 000 (R7 970 500) 

The Kaizer Chiefs have made the decision to let Ramahlwe Mphahlele's current deal expire in June without extending it. 

Because of his leadership both on and off the field, he was given the opportunity to wear the captain's armband on multiple occasions. 

Thank you very much, 'Rama,' and I wish you the very best for the future.

7. Kearyn Baccus – €375 000 (R6 292 500)

8. Bernard Parker – €275 000 (R4 614 500)

9. Dumisani Zuma – €250 000 (R4 195 000)

10. Anthony Agay – €225 000 (R3 775 500)

11. Siphosakhe Ntiya-Ntiya – €200 000 (R3 356 000)

12. Lazarous Kambole – €150 000 (R2 517 000)

Content created and supplied by: SA_Politics (via Opera News )

Anthony Akumu Agay Chiefs DOZEN KAIZER CHIEFS Daniel Cardoso Soweto


Load app to read more comments