Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





The 2021/22 PSL awards nominees revealed, Full nominees below;

The nominees for the 2021/22 PSL awards have been uncovered with stars from Mamelodi Sundowns overwhelming the rundown of expected champs. Mamelodi Sundowns' mastery of the homegrown football in South Africa this season has been perceived by the PSL who have selected 13 agents from the club across the 10 classifications for the 2021/22 PSL awards.

Masandawna lifted the MTN 8 title recently prior to proceeding to get the DStv Premiership title with games in excess and could finish a well known high pitch by winning the Nedbank Cup in the not so distant future. Accordingly, the club is the best-addressed group in South Africa among this season's awards nominees; including every one of the three spots for the profoundly desired DStv Premiership Players' Player of the Season honor.

PSL Footballer of the Season: Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns); Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Victor Letsoalo (Royal AM)

PSL Mentor of the Season: John Maduka (Royal AM); Manqoba Mngqithi and Rulani Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Eric Tinkler (Cape Town City)

DStv Premiership Players' Player of the Season: Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns); Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Young Player of the Season: Athenkosi Mcaba (Stellenbosch FC); Kwame Peprah (Orlando Pirates) and Luke Fleurs (SuperSport United)

DStv Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns); Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Mduduzi Mdantsane (Cape Town City)

DStv Premiership defender of the Season: Award Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns); Fagrie Lakay (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City)

DStv Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Hugo Marques (Cape Town City); Toaster oven Nsabata (Sekhukhune United) and Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu)

In the interim, Sundowns and Marumo Gallants will seek the Nedbank Cup title not long from now, and the two clubs are addressed among the nominees for the opposition's Player of the Tournament award.

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns); Aubrey Modiba (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Ruler Ndlovu (Marumo Gallants)

Nedbank Cup Most Encouraging Player: Keegan Allan (College of Pretoria); Luvuyo Phewa (College of Pretoria) and Mfundo Thikazi (Royal AM)

Somewhere else, Sundowns additionally rule the designations for the MTN 8 awards, while the best and most splendid from Soweto rivals Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates will fight for the DStv Diski Challenge gongs.

MTN 8 last man standing: Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns); Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Surprise Ralani (Cape Town City FC)*

DStv Diski Challenge Player of the Season: Mduduzi Shabalala (Kaizer Chiefs) and Boitumelo Radiopane (Orlando Pirates)

* Surprise Ralani joined Mamelodi Sundowns from Cape Town City following the finish of the 2021/22 MTN 8 mission.

Source: The 2021/22 PSL Awards nominees revealed (

Content created and supplied by: WILMATNEWS (via Opera News )

DStv Mamelodi Sundowns PSL Peter Shalulile South Africa


Load app to read more comments