Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

Christiano Ronaldo beats both Lionel Messi and Robert Lewandoski for another prestigious award.

In the FIFA 2021 professional awards ceremony, which was place at the FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland, the English Premier League side triumphed against their opponents. During the event, prizes will be given out to the best head coach, player of the year, and goalkeeper of the year in each of the two genders. 

Robert Lewandowski of Bayern Munich won the Men's best player of the year award for the second year in a row, defeating Mohamed Salah and Lionel Messi in the process, but Manchester United and Portuguese forward Christiano Ronaldo beat him to the prize for the second year in a row. 

In recognition of his achievement in surpassing the all-time goal scoring record for men, Ronaldo received the FIFA special award. After scoring 803 goals throughout his career, the former Real Madrid and Juventus star became the all-time leading goal scorer in the globe. 

Ronaldo has also been named to the Men's Fifpro World X1 team for the 2021 season. He is the lone Manchester United player to have made it into the squad, which has been dominated by Chelsea and Manchester City, each of whom contributed three players to the team's success.

Content created and supplied by: Ayobless4 (via Opera News )

FIFA Lionel Messi Manchester United Mohamed Salah Robert Lewandowski


Load app to read more comments