Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Serie A

Check PSG star Lionel Messi break record to win Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi became named the 2021 Ballon d’Or winner for a 7th time after main Argentina to Copa America glory. Monday’s rite noticed Robert Lewandowski end 2d with Jorginho third.

Karim Benzema got here domestic fourth beforehand of Chelsea’s N’Golo Kante at the same time as Cristiano Ronaldo beat Mohamed Salah and Kevin De Bruyne - who had been named sixth, 7th and 8th respectively.

Raheem Sterling completed maximum of the 4 Englishmen up for the award, coming domestic fifteenth after Harry Kane landed in a disappointing twenty third area. Mason Mount became nineteenth with Phil Foden 25th.

Since the trophy became first supplied to Stanley Matthews in 1956, no gamers has gained it extra than Messi, who additionally has 5 2d-area and a third-area end to his dazzling record.

The rite became cancelled final yr because of the Covid-19 pandemic, while Robert Lewandowski became strongly tipped to assert the honour - and additionally gained FIFA’s The Best award.

Elsewhere on Monday night, Barcelona teen Pedri gained the Kopa Trophy and the Yashin Trophy for first-rate goalkeeper became taken domestic through Gianluigi Donnarumma. Alexia Putellas claimed the Ballon d’Or Feminin award.

In 2019, Messi gained beforehand of Liverpool’s Virgin van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo, then of Juventus. The yr earlier than had visible the primary winner aside from the long-lasting strikers on account that 2007 as Luka Modric took the prize.


Content created and supplied by: onTube (via Opera News )

Ballon Lionel Messi Phil Foden Raheem Sterling Robert Lewandowski


Load app to read more comments