Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





Sundown's Andile Jali Is Likely To Come Up On Top In The PSL Player Of The Year Awards 2021/2022

Jali with a chance to win prizes in the PSL

ANDILE <a class=Jali, acting midfielder for Mamelodi Sundowns, leads the runners-up in the 2021/2022 Premier Soccer League awards Photo: BACKPAGEPIX"/>ANDILE Jali, acting midfielder for Mamelodi Sundowns, leads the runners-up in the 2021/2022 Premier Soccer League awards Photo: BACKPAGEPIX

MAMELODI Sundowns' midfielder Andile Jali is likely to come out on top in the Premier Soccer League (PSL) Player of the Year awards for the 2021/22 season.

The 32-year-old was placed in five categories when the PSL released the full list of nominees on Thursday afternoon.

He is in line to win the MTN 8 Last Man Standing award, Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament, Midfielder of the Season, Player's Player of the Season as well as Footballer of the Season at the event on May 29.

Jali's name tops the list, recently making headlines after he was kicked out of the national team, Bafana Bafana, which will play in the Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifiers in June. On Monday, the Bafana coach announced the names of the finalists for the squad, with Jali's name missing.

Other players who have been nominated in many categories by Jali's Sundowns teammates, Themba Zwane and Peter Shalulile, will also be in the Player of the Season Player of the Year category.

DStv Premiership champions appear in many categories with their coaches, Manqoba Mngqithi and Rhulani Mokwena, in contention for the coveted Coach of the Year award, which they did not claim with Cape Town City coach Eric Tinkler and Royal AM coach John Maduka.

Keegan Allan and Luvuyo Phewa of the University of Pretoria and Mfundo Thikazi of Royal AM will compete for the Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player of the Tournament. Boitumelo Radiopane of Orlando Pirates and Mduduzi Shabalala of Kaizer Chiefs have been nominated for the DStv Diski Challenge Player Player of the Season.

The coaches of the teams running in the DStv Premiership are the ones who voted in the Footballer of the Season category. Each team had one vote and coaches were not allowed to nominate or vote for the players on their teams.

The same rule applied to selecting the DStv Disk Challenge Player of the Season, where the coaches who hosted the league voted.

Voting for the DStv Premiership Player's Player of the Season was made by the players of the teams running in the top tier. Each team was allowed to vote for no more than 30 players and was not allowed to vote for their teammates.

The DStv Premiership Goal of the Season will be voted by the public to choose between the goals that have won the Goal of the Month award since the start of the season.

Voting will begin once all DStv Premiership matches have been played on

In some categories, a team was selected to consist of football journalists, commentators and broadcasters.

Complete list of nominees for the 2021/22 PSL Awards:

MTN 8 Last Man Standing: Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns), Surprise Ralani (Cape Town City), Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player: Keegan Allan (University of Pretoria), Luvuyo Phewa (University of Pretoria), Mthundo Thikazi (Royal AM).

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns), Aubrey Modiba (Mamelodi Sundowns), King Ndlovu (Marumo Gallants).

DStv Diski Challenge Player of the Season: Mduduzi Shabalala (Kaizer Chiefs), Boitumelo Radiopane (Orlando Pirates).

DStv Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Hugo Marques (Cape Town City), Toaster Nsabata (Sekhukhune United), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu).

DStv Premiership Defender of the Season: Grant Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lyle Lakay (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City).

DStv Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns), Mduduzi Mdantsane (Cape Town City), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns).

DStv Premiership Young Player of the Season: Athenkosi Mcaba (Stellenbosch FC), Kwame Peprah (Orlando Pirates), Luke Fleurs (SuperSport United).

DStv Premiership Player's Player of the Season; Andlie Jali (MS), Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns).

DStv Premiership Coach of the Season: John Maduka (Royal AM), Manqoba Mngqithi / Rhulani Mokwena (Mamelodi), Erick Tinkler (Cape Town City).

Footballer of the Season: Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns), Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns), Victor Letsoalo (Royal AM).

Share this article

Source Link

Content created and supplied by: LIFE_105.9FM_News (via Opera News )

Andile Jali Jali Mamelodi Sundowns PSL Premier Soccer League


Load app to read more comments