Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

Opinion: Barcelona is Superior To Real Madrid In Terms Of Ballon d Or Winners

Barcelona FC and Real Madrid are two of the most powerful clubs in Spain, as well as two of the most bitter rivals in Europe. In any case, it is no longer a surprise that the meeting between the two (2) clubs draws the most attention from across the world. Real Madrid has a better record than Barcelona FC in terms of El Clasico victories, with the Blancos having won ninety-nine (99) games to the Blaugrana's ninety-six (96) wins (96).

The two (2) clubs have won a number of trophies and have also produced players who have gone on to win numerous individual honors while representing their respective clubs. In no longer news, Lionel Messi, the former Barcelona FC captain, has won the 65th Ballon d'Or Award, his seventh (7th) in his football career and the most by a player in the world's top division. It was widely assumed that the Argentine captain will have more outstanding stats in 2021 than Bayern Munich forward Robert Lewandowski, who was widely considered to be the favorite to win the award by football fans in 2018.

Real Madrid may have won more matches and the Spanish La Liga than Barcelona FC, but when it comes to the number of Ballon d'Or awards won by players who played for these two (2) clubs, Barcelona FC outperforms Real Madrid by a wide margin. Barcelona FC has won more Ballon d'Or awards than Real Madrid by a wide margin.

Barcelona FC has produced six (6) winners who have collectively won the award twelve (12) times, with Lionel Messi taking home the accolade six (6) times during his stay with the club. Apart from Ronaldinho (2005), Rivaldo (1999), Stoichkov (1994), Luis Suárez (1960) and Rivaldo (1999), other winners who have won while playing for Barcelona FC include Johan Cruyff on two (2) times (1973 and 1974) and Ronaldinho (2005), all of whom have won one (1) award.

It has been awarded to just eleven (11) Real Madrid players in all, seven (7) of them have been Real Madrid players. In his time with the Blancos, Cristiano Ronaldo won the award four (4) times, and previous winners include Alfredo Di Stefano twice (1957 and 1959), Luka Modric once (2018), Fabio Cannavaro once (2006), Luis Figo once (2000), Raymond Kopa once (1998), and Luka Modric once (1998). (1958).

Content created and supplied by: Westworld (via Opera News )

Ballon Blancos Europe Lionel Messi Real Madrid


Load app to read more comments