Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

Top 3 awards that have never been won by a Chelsea player in their entire history

1. The Golden Boy award.

This award is given out by a select group of journalists to a professional football player under the age of 21 who has been deemed to be the best among his peers in a given year.

In light of the large number of young quality players that graduate from Chelsea's Cobham academy each and every year, it is a little surprising that no Chelsea player has received the honor.

No Chelsea player was even among the 40 young people who were nominated for the award, which was given out for the 19th time this year. Pedro Gonzalez Lopez, an 18-year-old midfielder who plays for Barcelona's first squad as well as the Spanish national team, was named the winner of the Golden Boy award for the 19th time on Sunday, according to ESPN.

Many players, including Callum Hudson-Odoi, Billy Gilmour, Armando Broja, Tino Anjorin, and Mason Mount, have been nominated for the Golden Boy award in the past, but have fallen short of taking home the trophy.

2. The Ballon d'Or prize.

Even though former Ballon d'Or winners like as Andriy Shevchenko and George Weah have gone on to play for Chelsea, no Chelsea player has ever won the award while playing for the club. A Chelsea player has come the closest to winning the award in its 65-year history with Frank Lampard's second-place finish in 2005, the closest a Chelsea player has come in its 65-year history.

All of that, however, might change this year, with the likes of Jorginho and N'Golo Kante among the favorites to take home the prize in its current form.

3. The Best FIFA Men's Player Award.

It is another trophy that has never been won by a Chelsea player, this time the FIFA Men's Player of the Year.

This is logical, given that the honor was established just six years ago, after FIFA's separation from the organisers of the Ballon d'Or award ceremony.

Chelsea's N'Golo Kante and Jorginho will be looking to put a stop to the club's dismal record in this category after being named as one of the ten contenders for the award.

Content created and supplied by: Sporthub (via Opera News )

Armando Broja Callum Hudson-Odoi ESPN Golden Boy Pedro Gonzalez Lopez


Load app to read more comments