Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





Warriors FC vs Amabutho FC DStv Compact Cup line-ups || Here are the Warriors FC versus Amabutho FC

Warriors reach Compact Cup final thanks to Swallows star

After overcoming Amabutho FC 2-1 on Saturday evening, Warriors FC will face Coastal United in the DStv Compact Cup final.

Warriors started goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune alongside Happy Jele, Njabulo Ngcobo, and Keagan Dolly, while Amabutho started Victor Letsoalo and Siyethemba Sithebe.

With a glancing header from a well-worked corner-kick, the latter almost gave his side a dream start, but he headed wide.

Pule Mmodi's first-time volley in the box put Warriors under more pressure just after the half-hour mark, but a point-blank save from Khune kept the Golden Arrows man at bay.

However, Amabutho came under strain when Keegan Ritchie's sloppy defending allowed Kwame Peprah to score just inside the final quarter of the half, but goalkeeper Veli Mothwa saved the day.

At the resumption, both teams made replacements, with Warriors bringing on Bonginkosi Ntuli for Daylon Claasen and Amabutho bringing on Fortune Makaringe for Ruzaigh Gamildien.

Five minutes after the break, Amabutho suffered a setback as a back-pass from Sithebe caught Mothwa off guard before rolling into the bottom-corner of the net.

That didn't stop them from dropping their heads minutes later, when Letsoalo and Nkosinathi Sibisi made a daring attempt, but Khune kept them at bay.

After Sibisi charged on a rebound in the area and tapped in from close range, the Kaizer Chiefs shot-stopper was eventually overcome inside the last 20 minutes.

With just over ten minutes remaining, Khune redeemed himself with a strong one-hand palm from Mmodi's rasping strike outside the area.

Warriors, who were still on the back foot, seized the win in the final six minutes when Monnapule Saleng stole a cross-field pass and smashed it into the far corner.

Soon after going down, Amabutho threatened to equalise, but Khune parried to allow his team through to the final, where they will face Coastal United next weekend.

Confirmed line-ups:

Warriors: Khune, Njabulo Ngcobo, Mako, Jele, Matlaba, Lorch, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Blom, Hotto, Dolly, Peprah

Amabutho: Mothwa, Xoki, Sibisi, Ritchie, Dube, Memela, Qalinge, Potsane, Claasen, Letoalo, Mulenga.

Source ::// 

Content created and supplied by: MzansiMgozi (via Opera News )

Amabutho FC Happy Jele Keagan Dolly Njabulo Ngcobo Warriors FC


Load app to read more comments