Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

The Only Player Who Won Premier League Golden Boot Without Having A Single Penalty

Due to the high level of competition in the English Premier League, winning the golden boot is one of the most difficult things for strikers and wingers that compete in the league to do. The Premier League has produced several exceptional goal scorers, but others have gone unnoticed despite their prowess in front of goal. Here are some examples of such players.

Even though forwards such as Alexandre Lacazette and Alexis Sanchez, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Wayne Rooney are among the best in the league, they have never been among the league's top scorers. Roberto Firmino, Diego Costa and Radamel Falcao, on the other hand, have consistently been among the league's top scorers.

Last season, the fight for the Premier League's Golden Boot was a close one, with two fantastic players competing for the honor. Mourinho's choice, Egyptian sensation Mohamed Salah, was up against England's Harry Kane, who just edged him out for the coveted trophy.

During the 2018/2019 Premier League season, three players shared the golden boot award after scoring the most goals in the league. A difficult season to anticipate resulted in three African attackers, Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Mohamed Salah, taking home the Premier League's top prize.

Every time a player wins the top scorer honor, the vast majority of those players have scored at least one goal through the use of penalties. Luis Suarez, a Uruguayan striker, was the leading goal scorer in the English Premier League during the 2013-14 season, scoring 31 goals without taking a single penalty.

Despite the fact that he did not appear in any League games during that season, he was awarded the Premier League golden boot. Suarez is widely regarded as one of the best attackers in Europe, and the season in question was one of his most productive while still representing Liverpool.

Content created and supplied by: Sporthub (via Opera News )

Alexandre Lacazette Diego Costa Premier League Radamel Falcao Wayne Rooney


Load app to read more comments