Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Europa League

5 Years Ago Today, Jose Mourinho Helped Manchester United Win Their Last Major Trophy As A Club

The 2017 UEFA Europa League Final was the last game of the 2016/2017 UEFA Europa League competition. It was the 46th season of Europe's secondary club football tournament, which is run by UEFA, and the 8th season since it changed its name from the UEFA Cup to the UEFA Europa League. 

Paul Pogba and Henrikh Mkhitaryan scored beautiful goals in the first half to give Jose Mourinho's Manchester United the win in the 2017 UEFA Europa League final against Ajax in Stockholm. 

The last time Manchester United won a trophy was in 2017 when they won the UEFA Europa League. Five years ago today, United won the UEFA Europa League because of how Jose Mourinho set up his team. These players were on Mourinho's Manchester United team that beat Ajax 2-0 to win the Europa League. 

Goalkeepers: Romero, and David De Gea.

Defenders: Domain, Blind, Smalling, Valencia, and Jones.

Midfielders: Ander Herrera, Fellaini, Juan Mata, Paul Pogba, Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Rooney, Carrick, and Fosu-Mensah.

Forwards: Lingard, Martial, and Rashford. 

After his team scored two goals in the first half, Jose Mourinho put them back on defense, which is what he usually does when he is ahead by more than one goal in most games. This strategy helped Manchester United keep their 2-0 lead until the very last few minutes of the game. 

Jose Mourinho is still Manchester United's best manager, even after Sir Alex Ferguson left.

Content created and supplied by: Jozirichway (via Opera News )

David De Gea Jose Mourinho Manchester United Paul Pogba UEFA Europa League


Load app to read more comments