Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Siya Kolisi scoops Player of the Year at SA Rugby grants, Springboks named Team of the Year

The Springboks were casted a ballot group of the year at the SA Rugby grants. Photograph: Ben Evans/Huw Evans/Shutterstock through BackpagePix

Durban - The way wherein Siya Kolisi drove from the front in the Springboks' series prevail upon the British and Irish Lions makes him a merited victor of the SA Rugby Player of the Year for 2021.

The Bok commander was titanic in that hard-battled series and was likewise in fine structure in the Boks' epic matches against the All Blacks in the Rugby Championship, with the Boks winning the last experience in a nail-biter.

The well known 30-year-old gathered the most decisions in favor of his exhibitions during an extraordinarily intense season for the Boks while the thrilling Aphelele Fassi underlined his incredible potential by winning the Young Player of the Year grant.

Kolisi pushed out solid difficulties from his public partners in Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Eben Etzebeth, and Makazole Mapimpi to turn into the principal Bok chief since Jean de Villiers in 2013 to win the top honor.

Kolisi was the main Springbok to play in each of the 13 Tests in 2021.


WATCH: Alfie, I'm glad for you - Springbok commander Siya Kolisi sends support for youthful rugby player

What the Springboks had the option to accomplish during the Covid-19 pandemic is completely phenomenal

Win and misfortune: The top South African donning snapshots of 2021

Watching Rassie Erasmus carrying on with his best Dezemba life starts such happy happiness

Fassi made his Springbok debut in 2021 and in spite of the fact that he included in just two Tests - scoring great takes a stab at the two events - he showed that he is one for the future by playing with expanding development at fullback and on the wing.

The Springboks were deservedly named Team of the Year for 2021as a consequence of showing genuine coarseness while burning through five months in different bio-secure air pockets in South Africa, Australia and the United Kingdom and conveying a few remarkable exhibitions - quite coming from 1-0 down to secure the Lions series.

In a fresh out of the plastic new classification, Lusanda Dumke was named Springbok Women's Player of the Year, while the Border commander likewise left with the honor for Provincial Women's Player of the Year in the wake of driving her side to the Women's Premier Division title.

Ronald Brown covered a fine introduction season for the Blitzboks as he was named Springbok Sevens Player of the Year, while Henco van Wyk's exhibitions in the Under-20 International Series saw him leave with the honor for Junior Springbok Player of the Year.

Aimee Barrett-Theron covered a striking season by winning the Referee of the Year Award for the second time after she additionally left with the honor in 2019.

Another new honor, the Test Try of the Year - which was decided in favor of by allies on different advanced stages - went to Cheslin Kolbe for his heavenly and vital attempt in the third Test against the British and Irish Lions in Cape Town.

The Bulls' second progressive Currie Cup title was reflected as Jake White was named Coach of the Year for the subsequent year running, while their remarkable new free forward Elrigh Louw pushed out partner Johan Goosen and co-flanker Evan Roos in the rush to Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year.

The honor for Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year, which wasn't challenged in 2020, was won by Dylan Maart of the Boland Kavaliers, whose eight attempts were the most in the opposition last year.

The champs and finalists (where appropriate) for 2021 are:

SA Rugby Player of the Year: Siya Kolisi

Finalists: Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Eben Etzebeth, Makazole Mapimpi

SA Rugby Young Player of the Year: Aphelele Fassi (Springboks/Cell C Sharks)

Finalists: Jaden Hendrikse (Springboks/Cell C Sharks), Jordan Hendrikse (Junior Springboks/Emirates Lions), Elrigh Louw (Vodacom Bulls), Evan Roos (DHL Stormers/Western Province)

Springbok Women's Player of the Year: Lusanda Dumke

Springbok Sevens Player of the Year: Ronald Brown

Finalists: Selvyn Davids, Siviwe Soyizwapi

Junior Springbok Player of the Year: Henco van Wyk

Finalists: Jordan Hendrikse, Jan-Hendrik Wessels

Group of the Year: Springboks

Finalists: Vodacom Bulls, Springbok Sevens

Mentor of the Year: Jake White (Vodacom Bulls)

Finalists: Jacques Nienaber (Springboks), Neil Powell (Springbok Sevens)

Carling Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Elrigh Louw (Vodacom Bulls)

Finalists: Johan Goosen (Vodacom Bulls), Evan Roos (DHL Western Province)

Carling Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Dylan Maart (Boland Kavaliers)

Finalists: Anrich Richter (Valke), Danrich Visagie (Leopards)

Commonplace Women's Player of the Year: Lusanda Dumke (Border Ladies)

Palace Lager Test Try of the Year: Cheslin Kolbe - Springboks v British and Irish Lions (third Test)

Finalists: Cobus Reinach - Springboks versus Georgia; Makazole Mapimpi - Springboks versus British and Irish Lions; Sizophila Solontsi - Springbok Women versus Kenya; Aphelele Fassi - Springboks versus Argentina; Damian de Allende - Springboks versus New Zealand; Malcolm Marx - Springboks versus Wales; Makazole Mapimpi - Springboks versus Scotland; Zintle Mpupha - Springbok Women v Wales; Libbie Janse van Rensburg - Springbok Women v Wales

OUTsurance Referee of the Year: Aimee Barrett-Theron

Mercifully share like remark and follow up for more news

Content created and supplied by: LeilaniKatherine (via Opera News )

Damian de Allende Eben Etzebeth Huw Evans Makazole Mapimpi Siya Kolisi


Load app to read more comments