Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





Warriors coach banks on Khune to keep clean sheet against Amabutho

Swallows coach Dylan Kerr is counting on Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune to maintain a clean sheet against Amabutho in the tournament's second semifinal at Moses Mabhida Stadium tomorrow (6pm).

All 16 Premiership clubs were divided into two coastal and interior areas to create the Compact Cup. AmaZulu, Golden Arrows, Maritzburg United, and Royal AM make up the Coastal One (Amabutho).

Coastal two includes Cape Town City, Stellenbosch, Chippa United, and Baroka, who have chosen the moniker Coastal United. Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Swallows, and TS Galaxy established the Warriors, which are in the Inland two division.

Inland one brought together players and technical staff from Mamelodi Sundowns, SuperSport United, Marumo Gallants, and Sekhukhune United. Kerr's Warriors will be led by Orlando Pirates captain Happy Jele.

The fans choose the starting lineups and playing squads. Kerr's Warriors' starting XI is dominated by Chiefs and Pirates players, with Swallows' Thabo Matlaba being the only player not from one of the two Soweto giants.

Amabutho will be coached by Ernst Middendorp of Maritzburg United, with AmaZulu captain Makhehleni Makhaula wearing the armband.

Despite the fact that Khune hasn't played a competitive game since Amakhosi's MTN8 quarterfinal tier against Sundowns last August, Kerr still considers him the best player in Mzansi.

"We want to retain a clean sheet because it will improve our chances of winning the game." They will find it difficult to score against us because we have the best goalie in the country [referring to Khune]," Kerr stated at yesterday's media briefing at Moses Mabhida Stadium.

The final and the third-place play-off will be held at FNB Stadium the following Saturday. The winner will receive R1 million, with another lucky fan receiving the same amount.

Khune, Matlaba, Jele, Njabulo Ngcobo, Paseka Mako, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo, Njabulo Blom, Keagan Dolly, Deon Hotto, Thembinkosi Lorch, Kwame Peprah. Warriors XI: Khune, Matlaba, Jele, Njabulo Ngcobo, Paseka Mako, Nkosingiphile Ngcobo,

Veli Mothwa, Keagan Ritchie, Siya Dube, Tapelo Xoki, Nkosinathi Sibisi, Luvuyo Memela, Tebogo Potsane, Thabo Qalinge, Victor Letsoalo, Augustine Mulenga. Amabutho XI: Veli Mothwa, Keagan Ritchie, Siya Dube, Siya Dube, Tapelo Xok

Content created and supplied by: Chiefs (via Opera News )

Amabutho Kaizer Chiefs Khune Orlando Pirates Warriors


Load app to read more comments