Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

South African government has implemented new driving rules from October.

South African government has implement new driving regulations from October.

Phase 2 of the initiative, according to the Road Traffic Infringement Agency (RTIA), began on October 1 and is undergoing a gradual statewide implementation of a new Aarto system for road traffic offenses.

The Aarto system penalizes drivers and fleet operators who are convicted of traffic violations or violations by assigning disadvantage points to their licenses, professional driver's licenses, or operator cards, which can result in the suspension or cancellation of their licenses, professional driver's licenses, or operator cards. To carry out.

RITA increased its statewide coverage in Phase 1 of Aarto, which ran from July to September 2021, by implementing seven service outlets and online services, including the launch of the Aarto website and mobile applications. bottom.

Between October and December 2021, Phase 2 of the project will put Aarto online in 67 municipalities and metropolitan areas.

“This includes the nomination of an Independent Court of Appeals and the implementation of electronic document services,” RITA explained.

“As we prepare for a full-scale nationwide rollout, all Aarto value chain implementation partners are collaborating. Phase 2 phased implementation changes are currently being worked on and are expected to be completed soon.

The project is continuing on track in all four phases, according to the agency, and the new point disadvantage system and driver rehabilitation program will go live on July 1, 2022.

For further information on the various phases, see the sections below.

step date explanation

Phase 1 will run from July 1, 2021, to September 30, 2021.

The opening of seven Aarto service outlets.

At issuers and Aarto service outlets, processing of Aarto selection possibilities begins.

Increase public knowledge of art across the country.

Phase 2 will run from October 1, 2021, through December 31, 2021.

Aarto has been implemented in 67 municipalities and metropolitan areas.

A total of eighteen Aarto service outlets will be opened.

The arbitration process for Aarto will also commence.

The appeal referee will be assigned to the case.

Phase 3 will run from January 1, 2022, through June 30, 2022.

Aarto will be introduced in the remaining 144 municipal areas that have been declared.

Phase 4 will begin on July 1, 2022.

On July 1, 2022, the point demerit system will be implemented.

Rehabilitation programs will be introduced gradually.

In addition, there will be 20 self-service kiosks.

Content created and supplied by: Unspoken-Creator (via Opera News )

Aarto RITA RTIA Road Traffic Infringement Agency South African


Load app to read more comments