Sign in
Download Opera News App



Love relationship


Dating Romantic

Know The 5 Love Languages, The Secret To Lasting Love.

The key to a healthy and long-lasting relationship is to become fluent in all five of the love languages.

We as humans long for love and yearn to give and receive it. On the other hand, not everyone is predisposed to automatically fall into a long-term relationship. Your relationships seem to fall apart every few months, but you have no idea why this keeps happening. It's possible that you're not familiar with the way other people communicate their love to you. We will keep you updated. Is the way you express love the reason why you can't seem to keep a relationship together?

Have you ever heard of the "five love languages"? Then perhaps that is the reason why your relationships keep failing, despite the fact that you put so much effort into maintaining them. The ways in which you and your partner prefer to be loved can be summarized by one of these five love languages. Therefore, if you and your spouse do not know this about yourselves, there is a good possibility that you are not walking by each other. But what exactly are these five different ways of expressing love? These include kind words, thoughtful gifts, quality time spent together, physical contact, and acts of service performed for one another.

Although everyone can relate to themselves in at least one of the five love languages, most people tend to speak one of them more fluently than the others.

Dr. Gary Chapman, a therapist who specializes in working with couples, is the creator of this idea. In 1992, he published a book on it titled The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts. Recently, Gary's hypothesis has seen a surge in popularity, and these days, determining your "love language" seems to be almost as important as determining your zodiac sign.

1. Spending time together (quality time):

If quality time spent together is one of the ways you express love to your partner, then it is clear that you place a high importance on this aspect of the relationship. This point is very self-explanatory. There will be no phones or other distractions allowed. You want your partner to devote their whole attention to you and you want them to make time for you as well. Because of this, you get a sense of being cherished and special.

2. Doing things for each other (acts of service):

The phrase "actions speak louder than words" is literally translated into this form of the love language. Although it is sweet when your partner tells you that they love you, you would much rather see that love mirrored in the things that they do for you that you also love. A surprise breakfast in bed or someone else making you dinner when you get home from a long day at the office exhausted and hungry. You place a high value on thoughtful actions made by your partner in a relationship.

3. Touches (physical contact):

If you communicate love using this method, then you've definitely struggled a lot throughout the times when it was prohibited. The power of touch allows you to both give and receive love. When your partner touches you in any way, whether it be a hug, a kiss, or something more than that, you will feel like you are about to faint. You have a strong desire to be in close proximity to your sweetheart and do everything together. At a gathering, do you see any couples who don't touch each other the whole night? I haven't seen you yet. You require those personal touches!

4. Presents (receiving presents):

This particular love language has a reputation for being shallow and focused on material things, yet this is not the case at all. It is not the present itself that is important, but rather the thinking that went into giving it. When someone gives you a meaningful personal present, your heart may skip a beat.

5. Sweet words (words of affirmation):

If you communicate your love with words, you put a lot of stock in what the other person has to say. You place a high priority on the fact that your spouse continues to orally communicate his affection for you and frequently tells you, "I love you." As a result of this, it is essential for you to have a spouse who is comfortable sharing his emotions with you and who takes pleasure in lavishing you with compliments and kind words.

Now that you've learned what your primary love language is, the next step is to find out what your partner's love language is. Even if you say a lot of romantic things to your partner because you like doing it yourself, if the other person's primary love language is spending quality time together, then there is something missing in your relationship. Therefore, you should have that discussion with your spouse regarding the manner in which he or she would like to be shown love. You can bet that your relationships will continue for a considerably longer time going forward.

Content created and supplied by: CloudZero (via Opera News )

5 Love Languages


Load app to read more comments