Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

How The IFP's Governance Pact With The ANC Fell Apart

Velenkosini Hlabisa, MPL, head of the IFP, has detailed how their governance alliance with the ANC came apart. He said that following the elections, the IFP indicated that it would not form a coalition government with the ANC in KwaZulu-Natal. That attitude has not altered, and no alliance has been formed. Following consultations with 17 political parties, the IFP's National Council concluded that coalitions with smaller parties would not result in stable local governance, jeopardizing service delivery.

"We made it plain to the ANC from the start that this working arrangement did not include the economic centers of uMsunduzi, eThekwini, Umhlathuze, and Newcastle. These four cities form the economic backbone of KwaZulu-Natal. We couldn't let what occurred at uMsunduzi happen anywhere else. As a result, the IFP attempted to play a prominent role in these municipalities in order to reestablish good governance" IFP President Velenkosini Hlabisa. Because the IFP or the ANC received the majority of votes in KwaZulu-Natal, we then negotiated with the ANC a principled approach to government in hung municipalities".

The IFP would establish the government in areas where it garnered the most votes, while the ANC would form the opposition. In areas where the ANC obtained the most votes, the ANC would become the government, while the IFP would form the opposition. He denied the existence of a coalition. By any stretch of the imagination, this cannot be termed a coalition." A coalition government is formed when two or more parties share power; it is not formed when one party takes power and the other sits in opposition.

Based on this principal agreement, the IFP established municipal governments in the hung municipalities of Nongoma, Inkosi Langalibalele, Umvoti, Abaqulusi, Alfred Duma, Endumeni, and Mthonjaneni. This is in addition to the municipalities in which we gained a clear majority, which are Umfolozi, UMlalazi, Ulundi, Msinga, Big 5 Hlabisa, Nkandla, Ophongolo, Nquthu, and Jozini. According to him, these municipalities are now controlled by an IFP government and will be conducted with quality and honesty based on the election mandate.

Please follow, like, share and comment.'

Content created and supplied by: Houseofnews (via Opera News )

ANC IFP MPL National Council Umhlathuze


Load app to read more comments