Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Two ANC Comrades Nominated As Mayors Unopposed In Limpopo Province

ANC councillor, Gerson Phethole Molapisane has been elected unopposed as the new Greater Tzaneen Mayor in Limpopo province.

This comes after Sani Tiva has also been nominated unopposed as the council speaker at the Greater Tzaneen Municipality.

Both Riva and Molapisane have promised to serve the community diligently and deliver the promises they were making during the local government elections.

Tiva says she is fully aware of the responsibility that comes with her position and does not doubt that the council will effectively render its legislative and oversight duties.

Newly elected mayor of the Greater Tzaneen municipality, Gerson Phethole Molapisane says councillors that have been elected should avoid shelving work for tomorrow, because tomorrow may never come.

Molapisane says their role is to deliver services regardless of any prophecies made about how the ANC will perform in the future elections.

He adds that the former mayors in the municipality have done great work in laying a good foundation and the new administration will carry forward that good work.

Meanwhile, chairperson of the ANC Peter Mokaba Region John Mpe was elected Polokwane mayor also unopposed at Ngoako Ramatlodi sports complex in Seshego.

The former Capricorn District Municipality (CDM) mayor who replaced Thembi Nkadimeng in September was sworn in as the first citizen of Limpopo’s capital city under tense conditions with EFF and ANC supporters who were out-singing each other at any given chance.

Mpe resigned as district mayor in September after leading it for five years. He was replaced by Mamedupi Teffo.

The ANC garnered 56 seats during the November 1 local government elections while the EFF won 21 seats and the DA 7 seats.

The red berets however decided to refrain from participating in the election process leaving the DA, FF+ and the other parties to fend for themselves when they contested for the position of speaker.

Newly elected DA Councillor Franco Marx was beaten by the ANC's Whelemina Modiba as new speaker.

Modiba received 57 votes as opposed to Marx’s 11.


Content created and supplied by: DissentingVoices (via Opera News )

Gerson Phethole Molapisane Greater Tzaneen Mamedupi Teffo Riva Sani Tiva


Load app to read more comments