Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Panyaza Lesufi Beats Lebogang Maile To Become The ANC Gauteng Chairperson, See The Elected Top 5.

The African National Congress(ANC) highly anticipated elective conference has finally been concluded and the winning person finally elected with Panyaza Lesufi becoming victorious, as the ANC held it's 14th Gauteng conference in Benoni.

Lesufi who is currently the MEC for Education in Gauteng and a member of the Gauteng Provincial Legislature will replace David Makhura in the position, since he came into office in 2014.

Lesufi beat Maile for the top position with 575 points while Maile got 543 votes, a difference of just 32 votes. The deputy chairperson results saw Nomantu Nkomo Ralehoko victorious with 593 votes beating Mzi Khumalo who got 522 votes, a difference of 71 votes.

Thembinkosi TK Nciza was victorious to become the new provincial secretary with 534 votes beating Thulani Kunene who got 525 votes and Jacob Khawe, who only managed 56 votes.

The remaining 2 positions were close calls with Tasneem Motara becoming the new provincial deputy beating Nomathemba Mogkethi with 557 votes to 552, a difference of just 5 votes. The remaining position Provincial Treasurer was won by Morakane Mosupye who beat Paul Mojapelo, with 556 to 555 votes, a difference of just 1 vote.

Lesufi will be pleased with the outcome of the conference as his slate won 3 of the 5 positions, while the Maile slate won the other 2 positions. Lesufi and his elected team have a touch job ahead, as they will try to get the ANC back to running the whole province as they have lost a number of key Metro's in the province in recent times.

Please Follow Deez89 For More Stories.


Content created and supplied by: Deez89 (via Opera News )

ANC Gauteng Panyaza Lesufi Tasneem Motara Thembinkosi TK Nciza


Load app to read more comments