Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Entertainment


Movie TV


TV Video


21 September 2021

Written by Sphe J Hadebe

Johannesburg - Mzansi Magic'a soap, Diep City, is just a new kid on the block, less than a year being on our screens and already they are making waves.

Diep City, came to our screens to replace the popular soap, Isibaya at the very competitive time slot of 20:30. Although many people criticized it when it was starting as they said that it will not fit in Isibaya and it is far away from the level of Isibaya, but they have been proven wrong.

It goes without a doubt that everything Mandla N, touches, definitely turns to gold. He is an executive producer of this new baby which is doing amazing work. Diep City is produced by his company, Black Brain Pictures.

Another undisputed fact of having this show being the best is the cremè de le cremè of the cast. Mandla N did ensure that he brings renowned and best actors for this production and it is definitely seen that they are doing incredible work.

This past weekend, it was the fifth annual Royalty Soapie Awards which were held in Johannesburg, hosted by Gagasi FM's presenter, Felix Hlophe and actress, Enhle Mbali Mlotshwa.

Diep City were the winners who bagged most awards as they walked away with five accolades. This is quite amazing considering the fact that they are newbies in the industry but they have managed to beat all the soaps that have been there for years.

The 5th Royalty Soapie Awards winners were announced at a ceremony held at the Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre in Johannesburg on Saturday, 18 September.

In a milestone year for the annual awards shows, it celebrated South Africa's daily TV dramas, showcasing and emphasising the importance of stories.

The awards will be broadcast on Saturday, 2 October at 20:00 on SABC 1 (DStv 191). The red carpet show hosted by Candice Modiselle will air at 19:30.

DiepCity bagged the Outstanding Daily Drama Award, and Skeem Saam was voted Most Popular Show. In the two new categories voted by the public, Chrispen Nyathi walked away with Best Actor and Lebohang Mpanya with Best Actress.

Dr Lillian Dube received the Lifetime Achievement Award.


Content created and supplied by: Mzansicelebritynews (via Opera News )

Diep City Isibaya Johannesburg Mandla Sphe J Hadebe


Load app to read more comments