Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





The PSL has revealed the DStv Compact Cup format || here is how teams are grouped

The PSL has revealed the DStv Compact Cup format.

Cup DStv Compact (Courtesy of the PSL)

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) has introduced a new tournament in which all 16 DStv Premiership teams will be grouped into four groups, each with four teams competing against one another.

At a press conference on Monday, PSL chairman Irvin Khoza announced the new tournament, which will be known as the DStv Compact Cup.

This is yet another brilliant idea. It will be refreshing that the fans will be in charge of squad selection, technical team, and name selection," Khoza remarked. The roles have now been flipped, and we will learn more about the fans' perceptions of player chemistry based on their team picks.

The DStv Compact Cup, dubbed The Spectators' Choice, is another exciting PSL and DStv innovation that gets viewers even closer to the game by allowing them to voice their opinions and experience what it's like to sit in the famed coaches' seat.

The DStv Compact Cup will be held over the last two weekends of January 2021, with viewer, coach, and player collaboration being key. The PSL divides its 16 member clubs into four regions, two of which are inland and two of which are coastal, as follows:

AmaZulu FC, Golden Arrows FC, Maritzburg United, and Royal AM FC are in Coastal Group 1.

Cape Town City FC, Stellenbosch FC, Chippa United FC, and Baroka FC are in Coastal Group 2. (exception)

SuperSport United, Mamelodi Sundowns FC, Marumo Gallants, and Sekhukhune United are in Group 1 of the Inland League.

Inland Orlando Pirates FC, Kaizer Chiefs FC, Swallows FC, and TS Galaxy FC are in Group 2.

Fans will have the opportunity to nominate team names for the DStv Compact Cup via the SuperSport TV social media channels from December 13 to December 19, 2021. (Facebook and Twitter).

Then, from December 2021 to January 3rd, 2022, football fans around the country will be able to vote for their favorite players from these teams to build the regional DStv Compact Cup squad using a safe and secure USSD code. All premier division players will be eligible for selection, with the exception of those selected for the AFCON.

The final squad lists will be announced on January 5, 2022, with voting for starting lineups beginning that day and ending on January 12, 2022. Sources of media for the PSL:

Source ::

PSL reveal DStv Compact Cup format via @sport24news

Content created and supplied by: MzansiMgozi (via Opera News )

Cup DStv DStv Compact Cup Irvin Khoza PSL


Load app to read more comments