Sign in
Download Opera News App



Motor Vehicles



Let's take a closer look at The South African Car of the Year 2021.

The Peugeot 2008 has recently defeated 23 other finalists to win the title of South African Car of the Year in 2021.

The competition, which has been run by the South African Guild of Mobility Journalists since 1986, also featured nine category winners (see below), ranging from budget cars to adventure vehicles, double cabs, and new energy vehicles.

But there can only be one overall winner, and this year's winner was the Peugeot 2008 compact SUV, which impressed judges with its combination of sophistication and value.

The 2008 was also the most popular vehicle among jurors prior to the addition of value-based automated scores to the overall tally, earning it the Juror's Excellence Award.

The Toyota Hilux finished second overall, while the BMW 4 Series finished third.

These were also the 2021 South African Car of the Year category winners...

Budget: Toyota Starlet

Compact: Hyundai Venue

Family Compact: Peugeot 2008

Family: Audi A4

Premium: BMW 4 Series

Performance: Porsche 911 Turbo S

New Energy: Porsche Taycan

Adventure SUV: Toyota Land Cruiser Prado

Double Cab: Toyota Hilux

The SAGMJ also announced the winner of the public vote, with the Mercedes-Benz E-Class receiving the Motor Enthusiast's Choice award.

The competition for the 2021 South African Car of the Year was open to vehicles introduced in the country between November 2019 and April 2021. This was the first year that the scoring was entirely electronic, as there were no official test days where all of the finalists were present.

As with many international competitions, the jurors - a group of experienced motoring journalists - rated the cars based on their testing experiences over the course of the year.

“The 2021 SA Car of the Year (COTY) presented its own set of challenges. We did not hold our scheduled two-day juror evaluation event for the first time in the competition's history,” the SAGMJ stated. “Fortunately, we had the foresight to develop an ongoing online scoring system available to all South African Guild of Mobility Journalists (SAGMJ) members in 2019 based on scoring criteria that closely mirrored COTY's voting criteria.

“The scoring system was initially developed to compile a database of vehicles tested, their strengths and weaknesses, and to compare them to category contenders.”

Previous winners of the South African Car of the Year award include:

Jaguar I-Pace in 2020

Mercedes-Benz A-Class in 2019

Porsche Panamera 2018

Opel Astra in 2017

Volvo XC90 2016

Porsche Macan S Diesel 2015

Porsche Cayman S 2014

Porsche Boxster (2013)

Hyundai Elantra 1.8 GLS 2012

VW Polo 1.6 TDI and BMW 530d in 2011.

VW Golf 6 1.4 TSI Comfortline 2010

Honda Accord 2.4i Executive 2009

Individual Mazda 2 1.5 2008

Honda Civic 1.8 VXi 2007

Audi A3 Sportback 2.0 TFSI 2006

Volvo S40 2.4i, 2005

Renault Mégane 1.9 dCi in 2004

VW Polo 1.4 TDI in 2003

Audi A4 1.9 TDI 2002

BMW 320d in 2001

Renault Clio 1.4 RT in 2000


By UpdatedDaily




Content created and supplied by: UpdatedDaily (via Opera News )

BMW 4 Series Peugeot 2008 South African Guild of Mobility Journalists Toyota Hilux


Load app to read more comments